The Way Less Travelled

Note: strong borrowing from the great Robert Frost and scripture. Comment and like below!

I’d walked for hours and found a fork

The road diverged in two.

He took the one less traveled by

The choice is not that easy.

To the left are trees and plants

A few strewn rocks and dirt.

To the right are shrubs and grass

A sanded path and woods.

For many hours I thought and sweat

But could not near decide

The night grew long, the beast drew close

With panic near I prayed a sigh.

Then behind the trees

A backlit color in the canopy

The clouds pressed up by red

By its light I saw the trail.

The leftward was tempting me

A faint decline. No rugged turns.

A hand to help and bluebirds sang

“Now follow only what you yearn.”

The rightward way was difficult

Rocks on which to stumble

And beggars taking all I had

Until I’m left to ramble.

Your burden’s light

The choice obscure

But test my heart

And lead me there.

Leave a comment